Sunday, January 11, 2015

Electing representatives: Thousands vote for new LBA leadership

January 11, 2015

LAHORE: Thousands of lawyers voted on Saturday to elect the Lahore Bar Association (LBA) executive for 2015-16 at the sessions court.

The Professional Group led by Hamid Khan faced Asma Jahangir’s Friends Group. Both sides were enthusiastic about their contest and claimed to have the support of young voters.

For president, Professional Group’s Chaudhry Ishtiaq A Khan and Arshad Jahangir Jhojha of Friends Group were in the run.

There were 13 polling booths, including one for women voters.

Several lawyers were chanting slogans in support of their candidates.

Supporters of each group stood at the entrances to the courts, requesting lawyers to vote for their candidates.

Asma Jahangir, Hamid Khan, Jahangir Badar and Sardar Khuram Latif Khosa visited the courts to vote for their candidates.

Security arrangements had been taken during the polling. Around 100 policemen were posted at the court complex and walkthrough gates had been set up at all the entrances.

Jahangir Bhatti, Naveed Chughtai, Jam Khalid Fareed, Iqbal Khurshid, Malik Sultan and Sajid Munawar are fighting for two seats of vice president. Muhammad Shehzad Khan Kakar, Syed Tafseer Haider Shah and Mian Abid are contesting for the seat of vice president from Model Town courts.

Adeeb Aslam Bhindar, Khuram Mir, Jawad Malik, Sajjad Butt and Babar Humayun Chohan were contesting for two seats of secretaries.

Published in The Express Tribune, January 11th, 2015.

Professionals rule LBA now

January 12, 2015

LAHORE - The new cabinet of Lahore Bar Association for year 2015 will take the office on Monday (today).

Chaudhary Ishtiaq A Khan of Professional group, led by Hamid Khan, was elected as president of the district bar after a tough contest with Arshad Jahangir Jhojha of Friends’ group of Asma Jahangir. Ishtiaq bagged 2110 votes while his rival candidate Arhsad got 2090 votes. Jahangir Bhatti won the seat of vice-president by getting 2310 votes against all other five candidates.

On the seat of vice-president Model Town courts, there were total three candidates including Mian Abid, Shahzad Khan Kaakar and Tafseer Haider Rizvi. Rizvi was declared successful with great margin as he bagged 1739 votes.

Adeeb Aslam Bhindar has been elected as Secretary of the bar with 2673 votes after defeating his competitors Jawad, Mir, Sajad and Baber Chohan.

Rana Ahsan stood successful as new Joint Secretary and bagged 3037 votes against his opponent Mian Tahir who could bag 992 votes only.

Fazahar Jutt was elected as Finance Secretary and got 1700 votes while his opponent, Riffat Malik, bagged 1643 votes only. Out of total 1462 registered voters, only 4297 made it to the polling stations.

There were total 13 polling booths and one of them was for fixed for women lawyers. The lawyers, while maintaining the tradition of bar elections, were seen chanting slogans in favour of their candidates. Proper security arrangements were made at District and Sessions court to avoid any unpleasant incident. Around 100 police officials were deployed around the court and walkthrough gates were installed at all the entrances.

A traditional fervour and zeal was observed on the occasion as lawyers kept campaigning all the day for their favourite candidates. Police provided tight security to the lawyers’ community and blocked all the main roads leading to the Sessions courts’ building with barbed wire and barriers except of Naseerud Deen road of judges’ gate side which was open for traffic.

However, entry of all the voters was banned from judges’ gate and police officials were on high alert there.

It was the first time in history of bar’s elections that special-walls, made of wood, were erected there all along the ways to polling booths at sessions courts building which were being monitored by Close Circuit Televisions (CCTV) cameras.

LBA elections today

LAHORE: Members of the Lahore Bar Association (LBA) are all set to elect their new leadership for the year 2015-16 on Saturday (today).

The polling will be held at the Lahore Judicial Complex from 9am to 5pm with one-hour lunch break. Senior lawyer Waqar Hasan Meer will conduct the polling process as head of the election board.

There will be a one-on-one contest for the top slot of president between Hamid Khan-led Professional Group’s Chaudhry Ishtiaq Ahmed Khan and Asma Jahangir-led Friends Group’s Arshad Jahangir Jhoja.

A total of five candidates – Jahangir Bhatti, Muhammad Naveed Chughtai, Malik Sultan, Jam Khalid Fareed and Sajid Munawar Qureshi – are vying for the two slots of vice president. Shahzad Khan Kakar, Syed Tafseer Haider Kazmi and Mian Abid Ahmed are in the run for the slot of vice president from Model Town seat.

Five candidates – Adeeb Aslam Bhindar, Babar Humayun Chohan, Jawad Malik, Sajjad Butt and Khurram Munir – are contesting for two seats of secretary. Bhindar is trying his luck second time as he had lost his last election with a very thin margin.

Rana Ahsan Ali and Mian Tahir are in the run for the office of joint secretary. Ajmal Malik, Chaudhry Afaheer Jatt and Riffat Tufail Malik are vying for finance secretary. Sultan Mahmood and Iqbal Malik have already been elected unopposed as library secretary and the auditor, respectively.

Published in Dawn, January 10th, 2015

No comments:

Post a Comment